Living witnesses of the epoch. Monuments


The Trinity Roman Catholic Church in Benitsa (founded in 1704) with its picturesque Baroque appearance stands out among the architectural monuments of Molodechno district. Its silhouette is formed by a high dome (atop the traversal of a lengthwise nave and a transept) and exquisite tiered towers at the main facade unified by a decorative gable. It faces the baroque gate and The Pokrovskaya Church (founded in the 19th century) built of rubble stone.


You can behold both a chapel and a church in Lebedevo. Located at the cemetery and built of  yellow brick the chapel seems to fly up. This miniature construction of the beginning of the 20th century indicates a good taste and abides the new gothic style. The Trinity Church (founded in 1869) follows the traditions of the pseudo-Russian style.


The monument to Starovilinsky Tract, one of the oldest main roads in the district, was erected in 1979 in the village of Myasota, standing by it. The road was running from Minsk to Vilno through Radoshkovichi, Molodechno, Smorgon and Oshmyany. A huge boulder on the roadside has the outline resembling the map of Belarus. The nearby boulders contain the tablets with the names of famous people who were taking the road.


The unforgettable scenery of Radoshkovichi  is predefined by  a picturesque hilly landscape. One of the most spectacular spots of its panorama is Ilyinskaya Church, a nice specimen of folk architecture of the 20th century.


The settlement was first mentioned in the written chronicles in 1447 due to the foundation ofSt.Trinity Roman Catholic Church. A new one with the same name was built 4 centuries later in the classicism style. Yan Lutsevich, subsequently well-known as Yanka Kupala, was christened there in 1882.


The Great Patriotic war (1941-1945) has left its sorrowful track in Molodechno district. In the July of 1945 the invaders founded the POW camp (a camp for prisoners of war)"Shtalag-342” on the territory of the former Molodechno normal school. 80 thousand of soviet people became its prisoners, 33150 men died within its walls.  A memorial complex in memory of fascist victims was erected on its site in 1996.